Oh, how charming

by clumsylawyer

I realise that I already published this post.  I did some fiddling around to spread my blogging out a little, so if you’ve already read this one sorry about that – there’ll be some new content tomorrow, I promise!

Although my mum asks me about my hair, makeup and jewellery for my wedding day, it’s not something I’ve ever really thought about.  Sure I’d like to look beautiful, but I don’t have any kind of ‘vision’ behind my look.

One thing I have been considering is whether or not to wear my charm bracelet on my wedding day.  It was given to me as a christening gift, and I have collected various charms but they have never been soldered onto the bracelet, and it has never been worn. I would love to wear it, but worry about whether it would be too childish for my wedding day.  The thing is, if I don’t wear it then I don’t know if I ever will and I adore my bracelet.

If I do decide to wear it, I would also like to get a new charm made up from some jewellery which A Man gave me when we were teenagers.  I lost one of the earrings and the necklace is broken, so they’re no good ‘as are’ but could make a meaningful charm including my ‘something blue’ – the blue stone from the centre of the necklace.

My charms, all laid out around the bracelet

Champagne Glass bought for my 18th birthday by my maternal grandparents

Trebel Clef also a gift from my grandparents on my 18th

Guitar given to me on my 16th birthday by my dad

3 Legs of Man bought by me on my first holiday with A Man to the Isle of Man

G my initial, given to me by my dad

Stork already on the bracelet when it was given to me for my Christening

Dragonfly given to me on my 18th birthday by my mum

Hearts given to me on my 16th birthday by my mum

Beer Stein bought by me during my and A Man’s tour of Europe on our gap year (I love this one because the lid even opens up!)

Ironbridge found among my paternal grandmother’s belongings after her death – my dad thinks it was meant to be a souvenir for me after she visited the Ironbridge Gorge Museum

Flip Flop given to me by my mum.  It reminds me of her because she always wears flip flops throughout the year, regardless of the weather

So, do you think I should get the bracelet fixed up and add a ‘wedding day’ charm, or look for something else?  Do you have some well-loved jewellery which is never taken out of the box?

