Joining Pinterest

by clumsylawyer

I have been using my own method of collecting inspiration photos – by using Microsoft OneNote and making my own note of the sources.  Loads of people have asked me whether I’ve joined Pinterest to help with the wedding planning.  For a while I had absolutely no bloody clue what people meant!  However, after a little research I can understand why it’s a useful tool.  Being able to store all of your inspiration photos in one place is a great plan and having the source automatically updated makes loads of sense because let’s face it, how many times have we all found something online and then had no clue where it was from?

So I requested a Pinterest invitation, and have joined up.  I filled in all my details, clicked on some things I was interested in…and then panicked.

There were immediately tons of photos on the screen.  I had no clue where they came from and apparently I’m now following a whole load of people whom the Pinterest gods believe I must be interested in.  Eek!  After becoming overwhelmed with the colour and sensory input, I immediately closed the page.  I just couldn’t handle it.

I’ve since braved another peek at it and I’m actually a big fan!  With a ‘Pin It’ button on my toolbar, I can immediately capture a photo which takes my fancy, without having to faff around.  I’ve got this feeling that I’m going to become a little obsessed…

Do you use Pinterest, or some other computer wizardry to help with your wedding planning?  What’s your advice to a Pinterest newbie like myself – is it worth trying to stick with?  And just in case you’re interested in what I’m pinning, my username is clumsylawyer 🙂

