Past, Present and Future…

by clumsylawyer

Nine Years Ago Today…

I met A Man.  You’ve already heard about that story, so I won’t bore you with it again.

This Time Next Year…

I’ll (hopefully) just be waking up (or more likely have been up for 2 hours already!), ready to begin my day as a bride, about to marry my best friend; the man I love.  That’s kindof what this entire blog is about, so I won’t bore you with that either.

Six Years Ago Today…

A Man asked me to marry him.  That’s the story I’d like to bore you with.

Warning!  I have no photos from that day whatsoever!  I know, we’re rubbish.  It just never occurred to either of us that we might want some…

We had decided to do something for our ‘meeting’ anniversary, as it was our first one as a couple.  A couple of months previously we had been out on a motorbike run with A Man’s dad and some of his friends, and ended up at Portland Bill, just outside of Weymouth.

Portland Bill Lighthouse. Image from worldheritagecoast.net.

In some ways the landscape is pretty bleak.  It’s windswept and there’s not a lot there, but I really liked it – somehow it spoke to me.  So we decided to have a daytrip out on the bike, spend the afternoon on the beach in Weymouth and the evening having a nice meal in the Pulpit Inn, a pub we had seen out at the Bill.

We travelled to Weymouth by bike (of course!) and the weather was glorious!  I love a good ride and Weymouth is about 50 miles from my parents’ house, so it wasn’t a bad run.  By the time we got there I was stoked to go to the beach!  We wandered around the town, had a picnic on the beach and I had a paddle in the sea  🙂  It was just good, silly fun.

A bit later that afternoon, we got back on the bike and mooched out to Portland.  We just wandered round, holding hands and eating ice cream.  It was nice to have a day to ourselves.  Our meal at the Pulpit was fantastic.  We scoffed down 3 courses each, plus coffee.  I had sole for my main and it was just beautiful and I think A Man had lamb shank.  We were incredibly impressed with the quality and the service, and ended up tipping about 20% on an incredibly reasonably priced bill.

We went for a walk along the cliff-tops.  I’m not sure what time it was, but it must have been pretty late as the sun was starting to go down.  It was starting to get a little bit chilly so I cuddled close into A Man and we walked slowly, listening to the waves crashing against the rocks and breathing deeply of the sea air.  We stood for a little while and just watched the horizon, not saying much; just being together.  After a while, A Man started fumbling around in his pocket.  He began this speech which I honestly barely remember.  And then he got down on one knee, pulled out a red box and opened it to show what I could swear was the most sparkly thing I had ever seen.  And he asked me to marry him.

I began to cry.  It doesn’t take very much for me to cry, so I’m sure you can only imagine how much I bawled.  A Man was worried he’d done something wrong because I wasn’t talking – I couldn’t talk for what felt like several hours (although in reality probably less than a minute).  Eventually I nodded like a woman possessed and blurted out “Yes, of course I will!” to which he started to cry as well.  We kissed and he held me on that cliff top as the wind whistled around us.

Eventually it was time to go home, and I squeezed him tight the whole way from my little perch behind him.  We got in the house and told my parents.  And then I collapsed into bed and slept, grinning all night.

Tomorrow we’re celebrating 9 years since we met, 6 of being engaged and only 1 until our wedding – a perfect day of past, present and future.  We’ll be travelling back down to Weymouth and eating once again at the Pulpit Inn.

How did you or your partner propose?  Was it on a special day?  Did you expect it?

